Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
Maryland Surveyor Article [Annual Awards] [FALL2010]
Share |

MSS Presents 2010 Annual Awards

Each year at the Annual Fall Conference, the Maryland Society of Surveyors presents an award for the Surveyor of the Year to honor an individual who has made exemplary contribution to the Society.  This year, Awards Chairman Keith Bailey suggested to the Board of Directors that additionally, two new awards be created:  The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes and honors an individual who has made significant contributions over the years and is dedicated to upholding the highest standards of the surveying profession.  The Friend of the Society recognizes an individual who has been extensively involved in supporting and promoting the land surveying profession and upholds the ideals of MSS.


Surveyor of the Year ~ Tim Quinn

The 2010 Surveyor of the Year was presented to Tim Quinn for his leadership as chairman of the MSS Government Affairs Committee.  Over the last several years, Tim has spent many hours ensuring the passage of our Statute of Repose bill, plus other major pieces of legislation impacting the surveying profession. 

Tim began his association with MSS by serving on the Education Committee.  He was the Chapter Chair of the Potomac Chapter from 2006-2008, when he finally entered into the MSS leadership role as Secretary.  On October 2, 2010, Tim was officially sworn in as President of MSS. 

In 1989 he became licensed as a Property Line Surveyor in the State of Maryland. He later become a Professional Land Surveyor. He also holds a surveyor's license in the Commonwealth of Virginia.Tim is a principal at Rodgers Consulting, Inc.


Russell E. Lowman Award ~ Ronald Collier

This award is presented annually to someone who embodies Russ Lowman's unswerving belief in education.  This year's recipient of the Lowman Award was presented to Ron Collier. Ron completed the Maryland Society of Surveyors classes at the University of Maryland in 1984 where he met Jim Demma, Russ Lowman, Mack Kelly and Don Sackett. These men instilled the importance of obtaining a survey education and getting involved with the Maryland Society of Surveyors. It was only appropriate that Jim Demma present the award to Ron at the Annual Awards Dinner.  Ron's dedication to MSS has been demonstrated time and again.  He is a 25-year member of the Society, serving on the MSS Board of Directors for over 15 years, and as President in 2007.  With his experience on the Education Committee, he helped to create and chair the Maryland Society of Surveyors Education Trust.  As a member of the MSS ET for 10 years, he helped to raise over $200,000 in funding and awarded more than $56,000 in scholarships to 80 recipients during that period. For the last 33 years, Ron has been employed at Charles P. Johnson & Associates.

Lifetime Achievement Award~ Draper K. Sutcliffe

This year's recipient of the first Lifetime Achievement Award is very appropriately Draper Sutcliffe.  Draper obtained a degree in civil engineering from the University of Maryland and ran a leading survey business in Frederick County.  He taught surveying programs at Frederick and Catonsville Community Colleges for over three decades and mentored and trained many students to become professional surveyors.  Many of our members were greatly influenced by his tutelage.  In 1975 he was appointed to the “combined” Board of Registration and became a founding member of the new Maryland State Board for Professional Land Surveyors in 1977.  Draper and his wife Dottie wore "many hats" in the early days of MSS.  Most notably, he served as MSS President in 1970/71, and was honored as the Surveyor of the Year in 1977 and presented with the  prestigious Russ Lowman Award for education in 2003.  On May 20, 2007 at the General Membership meeting at Dutch’s Daughter in Frederick, Stanley Botts, Commissioner of Occupational and Professional Licensing for the Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation presented Draper with a citation from the Governor of Maryland to mark the occasion of his retirement after a career spanning more than fifty years.  Michael Van Sant of Van Mar Consulting accepted the award on behalf of Draper. 


Friend of the Society ~ Bill Murphy

Bill Murphy is a well-respected and accomplished Technical Sales Rep whose primary focus is the sales, installation and training of all Leica products.  He joined Leica Geosystems in 2000 and is one of the top performing Technical Sales reps within Leica serving the state of Maryland for over 10 years. He has donated his time and efforts to many MSS functions and Chapter events, providing demonstrations and services, such as measurements for the Susquehanna Chapter long drive contest.

Bill served in the US Navy (1980-1995), where he was an Operational Intelligence specialist and retired as a Chief Petty Officer after 15 years active duty and another 5 years in the reserve.

Chapter of the Year ~ Appalachian Chapter

It is the honor of the outgoing President to select the Chapter of the Year. This award is presented at the discretion of the outgoing President, and although there has not been a Chapter so recognized since 2006 this year one Chapter stood out from the rest. This chapter exemplified what a Chapter should be doing to serve its members.  For 2010, the Chapter of the Year is the Appalachian Chapter.  They have been active as a chapter ~ hosting one of the Society’s General Membership meetings; involved in the community with helping to establish a survey baseline; reaching out to the Boy Scouts in their area to assist with the surveying merit badge; conducting regular meetings with great speakers and interesting topics, and providing a forum for political candidates to speak at one of their meetings. The Appalachian Chapter whole-heartedly embraced the Trig-Star program this year by testing all of the high schools in Washington County.  A very surprised Bill Orsinger, the current Chapter Chair, graciously accepted the award on behalf of the chapter.


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal